[feature] can we have ipv6 on the api ep?

I noticed that I have the IPv4 only for the sake of talking to wolfery on my test vm; if it’s not much of a hassle on your side @Accipiter, can you get ipv6 going?

1 Like

That’s probably up to the capabilities of the hosting provider (which probably needs to change mumble mumble).

Obligatory note: I am not a wolf.

1 Like

Yeah, but it seems the current hoster offers ipv6 on all the plans which makes me think it’s either the DNS missing or the wolf never setting up the ipv6 stack.

1 Like

suddenly remembers the weird details of the host’s routing

Oh yeah, they do. Hmm!

1 Like

Semi-back!

I have little experience in setting up IPv6.
I’ve added a AAAA record for the DNS of mucklet.com, to try to see if I can get it to work on test.mucklet.com . But trying to ping using ping6, I get:

Destination unreachable: Address unreachable

I’ll look into it a bit more. :sweat:

1 Like

Feel free to poke me if you need any help in sorting that out.

1 Like
$ dig mucklet.com AAAA +short
fe80::5054:ff:fe9e:e4f7

That’s the link-local address (like 127.0.0.0/8 for ipv6) :slight_smile:

1 Like

Haha, oh bummer :smiley: . Shows you how much I know about IPv6 :sweat_smile:

1 Like

If your linux box comes with ipv6 configured (and it’s just the dns issue) it’d come up in

ip -6 a s eth0  # or however the eth interface is called.

You’d be looking for the one marked scope global.

1 Like

I get:

~$ ip -6 a s eth0
2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 state UP qlen 1000
    inet6 fe80::5054:ff:fe9e:e4f7/64 scope link
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

So, I don’t seem to have any external one then. I guess I need to contact the host provider then.

1 Like

Yep. Not sure if you’re getting yours from inleed.se or any reseller (RIPE says the IP’s inleed’s for what I know), and all their plans seem to say they have ipv6 /64 subnet. Must be a configuration issue.

1 Like