[Feature] Buttons for commands

Hey everyone !

Today I’d like to introduce you to a feature I’ve been thinking about for Wolfery.

Have you ever been bored trying to find the right command ? Having to type the name of another fur you wanna DM but don’t know how many “l” or “m” his name contains ? Want to have a chat with someone in private but too lazy to type the commands again ?

There you go.

I’m a graphic designer, and I love when things are clear, simple, and user friendly. When I came to Wolfery I was just lost in the commands and chatting was a really hard step to make. So here’s my idea.

Chat command buttons

The idea is to add a button next to the chat box. It would look like a big button divided in three parts.

• First - This would be the channel button, a drop-down menu allowing you to choose between public chat, message, whisper, focus(@), and mail. The example above shows how this would work in public, we will see how this menu would work in the next section.

• Second - This button would allow players to choose if their message would be a pose or something they say. Clicking this button would cycle between the two stances, say or pose.

• Third - This last button would act like the second but here would allow to switch between IC and OOC

In the previous screenshot you can see how selecting those buttons would work in the chat, basically they are here to replace the commands in a visual way and be really user friendly, specifically for new users for are often messing with the commands. For example, if I wanted to say hello to the whole room in character I would choose : Public(Planet) - say - IC (Filled silhouette), enter my text. It would then result in the usual : Varian says, “Hello everyone !”

Now let’s have a look at the menu and how it would work for character focused actions.

1 Like

Messaging another character